It is argued that rules and regulations are the bedrock of a functional society. I completely agree with this view.

On the one hand, society is partly defined by its laws and rules, which enable it to run smoothly and guarantee interests for most of its members. Since the Stone Age, the daily functioning of a healthy tribe was closely attached to what rules were implicitly agreed upon by the tribe members. Whether it was the roles of the leader of the ancient group or the conciliation approach when internal conflicts arise, rules, and laws were everything that ancient people based on to keep their group functional and manageable. Without these unwritten boundaries, people in authority would have likely to fail in leading their tribe, and internal turbulences would have not been avoided. This would lead to the dispersal of the group or even worse, the death of hundreds as a result of violence and wars.

On the other hand, the roles that rules and laws play in maintaining the order of society are more conspicuous in the modern world. In some Mid-European parts, where rules and laws are weakly enforced or barely in their existence due to political instability, people are greatly suffering from the threats of being shot by terrorist groups. In these societies, citizens find it hard to live a normal, fulfilling life since fleeing from disturbing areas and trying to ensure their very survival are occupying most of their agenda. As a consequence, they do not have time for other priorities in life. In fact, most children in these areas cannot afford a proper education, the weak are not provided with sufficient healthcare, and the poor are barely surviving. Obviously, the lack of law enforcement and stability take a huge toll on the life of millions of people in these places.

In conclusion, rules and regulations lay the foundation of a functional and stable world in which humans can live and thrive.