Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries. Why are these exams used by schools and universities? What other types of assessment are possible?

In most of the countries, students are evaluated by formal exams at the end of every semester. These kinds of exams are used to assess students against what they are taught during the semester. Despite the widespread usage of examinations, continuous evaluation techniques are also feasible for assessment, such as projects and research assignments.

Examinations at the end of the semester are intended to measure the progress of the study and determine the level of knowledge of a student. This enables a teacher to assess a big group of students with minimal effort in a short period of time. In addition, the student wants to be evaluated in order to know where he or she stands in academics. For instance, I utilized semester examinations to find out my level of understanding in a subject and key areas to be improved. Formal examinations are still widely used in schools and universities is for these reasons.

Formal examinations are not only the way for assessing student's performance; there are other varieties of ways to measure the outcomes, which are not so formal. An end semester interview is an excellent way of evaluation where students can share their acquired knowledge with teachers. Doing a project or researching on a topic are other best types of evaluation. These methods are more practical as well as perfect substitutes for the conventional formal exams. Implementation of these modern assessments will improve the overall education system.

Universities in many countries around the world use formal examination as a method of assessment. These examinations help to evaluate the level of study of the students. However, there are other creative ways such as essay writing or research analysis that can be substituted for conventional semester examinations.