Formal exams are used to assess students at the end of each semester in many countries.

Why are these exams used by schools and universities?

What other types of assessment are possible.

In many countries, universities conduct formal exams at the end of every semester. These examinations can help the teachers to assess their students, on what they are taught and studied. Even written examinations are more prevalent, there are many other ways to measure students ability such as written assignments and research works are two of them.

The formal examination is important for the universities and schools to determine the knowledge gained by the students and teachers to evaluate themselves. These methods can help teachers to understand the areas to improve and to determine the progress of their students. For instance, teachers and students need to evaluate individually to understand their negativity, which helps them to focus in the future by introducing advanced learning and teaching methods. Because of these reasons examination methods always take a predominant role in schools and universities today.

Formal examinations are not the only way to measure students acquired knowledge, there are myriad of ways to measure such as written assignments and research works. Individual assignments and research help them to apply their knowledge and ability gained from the education by practical application. While doing research papers during my university studies, enabled me to apply various theoretical aspects to the practical application. These evaluations done through assignments and research helped me to assess myself and teachers, to test my level of understanding of the subjects.

In conclusion, formal examinations are conducted by the universities and schools in every semester. Although it may help teachers to assess their students progress, it can also help them to understand the areas where they need to improve. Despite formal examinations there are many other ways to monitor students knowledge.