Fossil fuel is the main source of energy. In some countries, the use of alternative sources of energy is encouraged. To what extent do you think it is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about what source of energy to consume. Some people state that fossil fuel should be exploited due to its huge production of energy. Others, however, believe that renewable or alternative energy should be used instead because of its long-term using and environmental-friendly impacts. I mainly agree with the latter point of view for the following reasons.

First, there is no doubt that renewable energy is clean and receives long-term potential energy for the future. Renewable energy such as tidal power, solar energy, hydropower, biomass, wind power and so on enables to be exploited naturally and contributes effectively to the local communites the energy needed for production and agriculture. Solar energy, for instance, is absorbed from the sun, stored in solar panels and could be used whenever needed. More specificially, its mechanism based on the conversion from solar energy to electricity, which does not discharge any harmful pollutants to the ecosystem. Therefore, it is necessary to make use most of the renewable energy.

Furthermore, this type of energy is completely handy to use and the cost is far cheaper than that of fossil fuel. This is because energy could be gained from where people living and does not cost any extra of buying equipments. For example, in Vietnam, some families start using solar batteries placing on top of the roof to absorb as much sunlight as possible and use it whenever being cut off electricity. A further point to note is that these batteries or panels cost approximately four million VND each. On the contrary, exploiting fossil fuel requires costly heavy machines and unhabituated areas to be deployed. Because of its sophisticated systems, its price is extremely extortionate that hardly anyone could afford to buy.

That is not to say that fossil fuel should be abandoned or got rid of energy production. There are, indeed, some people still make use of its capacity to fulfill their demanding purposes. For future prospects, of course, it is still in consideration as a harmfull energy source and carbondioxide-releasing source which results in greenhouse effects and onzone layer depletion. In that case, industries and companies have a tendency of utilizing alternative energy rather than fossil fuel.

In conclusion, this exchangement to alternative could bring profits to industries and a clean environment to citizens. Meanwhile, it is reasonable not to ignore the contribution of fossil fuel to the society. By doing so, we can ensure that the biodiversity is gurranteed as less polluted than before.