Many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists but not local people Why is this the case and what can be done to attract more local people to visit these places

It is widely argued that museums or historical exhibitions are ideal attraction destinations to the tourism industry rather than regional resident communities. This essay will first give some plausible explanations and then discuss about how to greatly improve this issue.

First of all, there is no room for doubt that museums and historical sites offer tourists great opportunities to experience a completely new culture, and therefore, provide them with a sufficient amount of knowledge about the sentimental value of a culture. On the other hand, local residents being highly exposed to their contents through history lessons at schools or universities are virtually accustomed to these sites, and thus it seems to be an unnecessary activity for local citizens to pay a visit to these locations. It was recorded from the Vietnamese government that roughly 85% of foreigners visit the Central National Museum compared to only 20% of local students in 2018.

This problem has posed a serious threat to the cultural expansion in many regions worldwide and they need to come up with some ideas to handle this situation. It is crucially important for these sites to make a huge improvement by taking advantage of advanced technological devices which can be applied wisely to attract many local residents. For instance, the Kyoto authority in Japan creates moving artificial dinosaur models which are placed in many museums to provide regional students a brand-new insight of the upbringing of an animal, helping them to gain in-depth knowledge while observing the object.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that museums or historical sites mainly draw huge attention from foreign visitors as opposed to regional people. However, thanks to the application of state-of-the-art technology, local communities have a positive attitude towards these locations and tend to visit frequently.