Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?
In the last decade, there has been considerable debate over the role of free speech in
a free society. Some object to absolute freedom of speech. Others advocate free
speech, arguing that the freedom of speech is the single most important political right
of citizens in a civilized society. Whilst I believe that there are strong arguments on
both sides, I would suggest that freedom of speech should be protected in all but
extreme circumstances.
The freedom of speech is important at all levels in a society. Yet it is most important
for government. A government which does not know what the people feel and think
is in a dangerous position. This is how the communist regimes of Eastern Europe
were toppled in the 1980s. The same is happening again in other regions of the world
today. The governments that muzzle free speech run a risk of pushing their people
to behave destructively or to rebel.
Furthermore, without free speech no political action is possible and no resistance to
injustice and oppression is possible. Without free speech elections would have no
meaning at all. Policies of contestants become known to the public and become
responsive to public opinion only by virtue of free speech. Between elections the
freely expressed opinions of citizens help restrain oppressive rule. Without this
freedom it is futile to expect political freedom or consequently economic freedom.
In conclusion, I believe that the importance of free speech as a basic and valuable
characteristic of a free society cannot be underestimated. It may be challenging for
society to allow differences of opinion out into the open; however, the consequences
of restricting free speech are likely to be more damaging in the longer term.