Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is indisputable that freshwater has always been a limited resource in a plethora of parts of the world. As a matter of fact, the increasing need for fresh water has been a hotly debated topic around the world in recent years. There are a number of reasons behind this phenomenon and several solutions should be adopted by the governments and individuals to improve the situation.

There are two primary reasons why the demand for freshwater is increasing. One reason is that overpopulation increases the demand for food and water to support daily human life. For example, to improve the amount of food, agricultural expansion becomes consequently necessary that farmers have to use more water for irrigation. As a result, it places a significant strain on the limited water supply, given the ludicrous quantity of water utilized for agricultural reasons in the first place and this leads to a shortage of clean water. Furthermore, water is used extensively in manufacturing and industrial processes. In fact, according to a recent survey, freshwater from rivers and lakes has been progressively employed in manufacturing operations such as chemical reactions, cleaning toxic equipment, and so on since the dawn of industrialization. With the current pace of industrial development, the urgent demand for freshwater is inevitable.

Fortunately, the government and people may take a number of steps to prevent this from happening. The first solution would be to heighten human consciousness. For instance, authorities should educate people about the importance of clean water and the consequences of water shortages. As a result, people will recognize the significance of fresh water and focus on protecting the water environment. Similarly, individuals can also contribute in order to resolving this problem by refraining from engaging in activities that would pollute natural freshwater reservoirs. A second measure would be to invest in the development of technology for water treatment and desalination. For instance, The government should invest more in water treatment. As a result, people can minimize the decrease of freshwater unavailability. Naturally, individuals also have a duty to keep the water existing by advanced water-saving and take good care of all available resources.

In conclusion, it is clear that there are various reasons for the need for freshwater, and steps need to be taken to tackle this problem.