Fresh water has always been a limited resource in some parts of the world. Today, however, growing worldwide demand has made this a global problem.

What are the causes of the increased demand and what measure could governments and individuals take to respond to this problem?

It is undeniable that in certain areas of the world, fresh water has always been a finite resource. However, nowadays, this tendency spreaded across the world due to the significant increase in the use of the resource. The following essay demonstrates common causes of the rise in the demand for fresh water as well as possible solutions that individuals and authorities can adopt to partially tackle the issue.

The increase in the need of fresh water can be attributed to overpopulation, modernization and water pollution. Firstly, overpopulation results in more demands for food and water to serve people's daily needs and activities. For example, to produce sufficient food, algricultural expansion becomes a necessity which increases the use of water for irrigation. Secondly, water plays crucial roles in electricity production, including pumping crude oil out of the ground, flushing away residue after burning fossil fuels and preventing power plants from overheating. On the other hand, due to the trend of modernization, residents have better access to the energy. Therefore, there is a rise in the demand for electricity, which also increases the amount of water used for electricity production. Thirdly, industrial processes use water to manifacture, wash, cool and transport products. In fact, the United States's total industrial water use is estimated to be more than 18.2 billion gallons per day, and that accounts for more than 50% of their water use. And the on-going tendency of industrialization will continue to increase the use of water for these purposes. Finally, while fresh water is a limited resource, water pollution is decreasing its availability, which rises the demand for fresh water.

Having been aware of the causes, individuals and the government can apply corresponding solutions to deal with the water sacarcity problem. There are several measures each person can adopt in order to cope with the increased demand for fresh water. One of these is that residents can practice more economical and reasonable use of water and electricity. Simple actions such as turning off light bulbs or water faucets when unnecessary, if widely implemented, will significantly reduce the amount of water consumed in household activities and energy production. Another is to refrain from contaminating water bodies. For example, one should avoid throwing plastic items into rivers and oceans. There are solutions being on a larger scale, and will require the government's involvement. The first is to raise residents' awareness about current shortage of fresh water and about actions that can taken, via educational activities at schools or via media such as television shows. As a result, people will be less likely to waste water and electricity or pollute water bodies. Another is investing in developing better water treatment and desalination technologies. This increases the amount of fresh water available and reduces the loss of the precious resource caused by water pollution, thus decreasing the need for clean water.

In conclusion, the demand is resulted from the exponential increase in the world population, the increased use of water and electricity and water pollution. There are solutions that can be adopted to mitigate the problem, varying from individuals' and the government's, namely to raise people's awareness about the issue, to encourage economical use of water and electricity, to avoid polluting water bodies, and to increase the available supply of water by improving the desalination techniques. If they are well-implemented worldwide, a world where everyone has sufficient fresh water may no longer be beyond our reach.