Freshwater is a limited resource in certain regions of the world. Today the escalating demand has transformed it into a global problem.

What are the causes of the increasing demand? What measures can governments and individuals take to respond to the problem.

A scarcity of freshwater is seen in particular areas on the globe due to an insatiable demand from the humankind, which has turned the need for water supply into a severe issue. This essay will discuss the main reasons and offer some possible solutions to the matter.

There are two main causes of the shortage of the freshwater. The first cause is overpopulation. It means that the total number of Earth’s inhabitants are already substantial and this number is growing day by day. It is estimated that the world welcomes nearly 400,000 new-born babies on a daily basis. This rate of birth is likely to increase in the near future. The exploding population, therefore, is equivalent to a considerable use of clean water for domestic purposes. The final cause is water contamination. As industrial plants are constructed for bettering humans’ lives, water sources are adversely affected. Toxic wastes as well as harmful chemicals are discharged into waterways, denaturing quality of the fresh water. Furthermore, poisonous airborne substances from factories adhere to clouds, thus rain is made impure subsequently. The water would be no longer clean if it falls to a river.

There are two possible solutions to this matter. Firstly, governments of all nations around the world can collaborate to raise people’s awareness. Hefty fines for water pollution should be imposed on companies which dispose of waste liquids by releasing them into rivers and seas. Also, there should be cash incentives for any residents who keep natural water supplies clean. Besides, online programs and direct educational workshops should be established for everyone to have the knowledge of fresh water preservation. Finally, every individual can improve the situation by being careful of their quotidian actions. For example, household garbage should not be thrown onto water flows. Also, residents should not clean their unwashed bodies in natural water sources. Besides, aquatic plants purifying water should be cultivated on a large scale.

In summary, the worldwide problem of freshwater scarcity is caused by two reasons, and two measures can be taken to tackle this problem.