In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers.

With the rapid development of technology, the traffic system will soon be equipped with state-of-the-art facilities and driverless vehicles may dominate the transportation in the coming years. However, I personally believe this trend is detrimental rather than beneficial and my opinion will be discussed in this essay.

On the one hand, vehicles without drivers may help reduce the number of road accidents. This is because transport including cars, buses and trucks will be pre-programmed and equipped with automatic system. Therefore, no more careless or drunk drivers can cause unwanted accidents. What is more, proper guidance of directions or information will also be precisely given by the artificial intelligence system placed within in the transport.

On the other hand, there appear to be a loads of disadvantages when it comes to driveless vehicles. First and foremost, there will be a rise in the unemployment rate as not only driver but also the assistant is not recruited. Moreover, fewer people will opt for a driver license since vehicles are driverless which may considerably affect some driving companies. Another problem with automatic transport is in case of sudden technical problems, passengers will not be able to deal with them in the absence of the assistant or driver. To simply put, the existence of vehicles' operator is indispensable.

In conclusion, although driverless vehicles bring about a few benefits to the future transport system, we can not deny the importance of drivers and assistants. Thus, the co-operation between human's experience and technology will signigficantly assist the development of transportation.