In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Enthusiasm for using online resources in later life has been at an all-high time in many parts of the world, not least in reading news and books online without paying. While it is argued that decreased buying printed books or newspapers would come about through the developed online resources, I advocate that printed books and newspapers would be still indispensable.

The first reason for this move away from printed books and newspapers is that being well-informed by using online resources is to avoid being time-consuming and labored-consuming. Indeed, online-based information renders geographical location irrelevant, and people can access information without extra charge, apart from the monthly wifi charge. In addition, readers can update themselves by certain hot news online every free time without waiting until books or newspapers are published at the weekend. For example, newspapers on the Internet are updated continually almost 24 hours a day, and readers just need the wireless network for downloading this news.

On the other hand, printed books and newspapers are offered for the elderly because their eyes are degraded; as a result, gluing to e-books screens for a long time is harmful to their eyes. This can make the effectiveness of online news lag behind the efficacy of online information in terms of the old people. Moreover, the idea that Internet-based information is not the optimal choice for the elderly can be attributed to technical barriers. For instance, old people can not keep themselves abreast of all the latest developments in contemporary society; therefore, they do not know how to tap keywords on the engine and choose the true news, which is mixed with the fake ones.

In conclusion, while the online-based information can be time-saving and labored-saving, printed books and newspapers make perfect sense for the aforementioned reasons. I suggest that governments should find the right balance between the two.