In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is believed that in the future printed books and newspapers will be replaced by e-books and e-newspapers as they will be free to read online. I strongly believe that the in the future, most of the population will be able to access internet which would give them opportunity to read online for free which would be a better option then purchasing a printed version.

On one hand, in the future almost every reader on the earth will be able to access the internet. Firstly, the way digital wave is rising, in upcoming years the internet will be available in remote areas as well. The number of smartphone users is increasing dramatically which could be considered as the early sign of global digitalization. Once all the book and newspaper readers have access to the internet they will quickly switch to online mediums from the printed mediums, as reading books and news online is much convenient and pocket friendly if compared to the printed versions. For example, I mostly use an android application for getting news as it gives me the live and instant updates for free.

On the other hand, there are a lot of campaigns organized by the governments and NGO's to encouraging people to quit paper. The increasing global warming issues are already scaring the government authorities and the main reason of global warming is decrease in number of trees. Since, the required raw material to manufacture a paper comes from trees, it is suggested by researchers, government and many welfare groups to reduce the use of paper to save trees. For example, in my office also we are suggested to use online communication mediums to reduce the usage of papers.

To conclude, in my opinion, easy and cheap access to internet will replace printed books and newspapers by online sources which will also help in promoting an eco-friendly approach.