In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

These days, many people are questioning whether the disappearance of printed materials can be possible somewhere in the future due to the availability of online books or newspapers. Personally, I am partly in favor of this viewpoint for the following reasons.

On the one hand, accessing resources on the Internet platform facilitates readers in terms of time and financial matters. Firstly, online newspapers satisfy the user’s demand for instantly updating news around the world. This is an advantage over the lengthened processing, including gathering, editing, and publishing, of printed newspapers, which makes them harder to reach a wide range of readers in a short period of time. Another point is that people are able to read everything, from luxurious magazines to best-selling novels, on the Internet without sparing any money. As a result, readers of different backgrounds can access to the giant knowledge source of humankind. To illustrate, the Internet enables me, a bookworm, to read many masterpieces, such as Gone with the wind or Think and grow rich, which are literally pricey.

On the other hand, I believe that printed newspapers and books are hardly irreplaceable since they play an indispensable role in our culture and bring about health benefits. Thousands of years ago, our ancestors tried to pass on their knowledge to later offspring in ancient books, which are still of great significance until now but can be hardly found on the Internet. These books are part of each nation’s identity, lessoning children the national pride and patriotism. Furthermore, holding a newspaper on hand is beneficial to our eyes, and reduces any harms that computers or smartphones cause to our bodies. This can be proved by a finding that in the era of technology, far more students suffer from damaged eyesight than in the past when they used to be more familiar with only paper coursebooks.

In summary, online newspapers or printed ones are equally important to the development of society, but the volume of those publications seems to decrease somewhat in the foreseen future.