In the future, nobody will buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with that statement?

Strongly attached to the evolution of information technology is the question revolving the fate of traditional forms of media. It is discussed that physical publications will soon lose their market share to the availability of e-news at zero costs. From my perspective, I completely disagree with this statement for the grounds of content quality and experiences.

On the one hand, there are multiple reasons to justify the preeminence of online newspapers. First of all, it must be admitted that cost efficiency is an enormous advantage of news on the internet. Specifically, it is considered killing two birds with one stone when people are entitled to reading news on a daily basis while saving a considerable sum of money since they can avoid the exorbitant fees of newspaper subscription. Furthermore, since online publications can be accessed with the help of electronic devices such as tablets or phones at the speed of light, they offer the mobility and convenience that conventional press could hardly compete, especially at the hectic pace of modern life. Therefore, it is fair to regard electronic newspapers and books as potential substitutes for printed publishing issues.

On the other hand, with their distinct qualities, traditional newspapers and books can maintain their own rigid stances against the surge of contemporary publishing schemes. To start with, the majority of readers are still in favor of printed newspapers, which are widely known as quality press because they convey news in a serious writing style unlike online newspapers notoriously criticized for their superficial tabloid-oriented manners of news delivery. Moreover, as e-news is free of charge for the public, the owners of those publications must seek sponsorships or profit-making organizations should they want to retain their operation. As a result, the websites of electronic newspapers or books often feature pop-up advertisements displaying abruptly and interrupting readers’ progress. Thus, it is obvious that the public must rely on conventional publications for decent reading experiences.

In conclusion, while the presence of online newspapers might sound lucrative, it is highly unlikely that they can get rid of traditional publications in the near future as printed newspapers can grant readers with high quality news and impeccable experiences.