It is now possible for scientists and tourists to travel to remote natural environments, such as the South Pole. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantages?

Advances in different fields have granted humankind with accessibility to far-flung places such as the South Pole for either science or tourism purposes. Daring as it may sound, this giant leap in our civilization definitely has more benefits to offer.

Regarding the drawbacks, the idea of entering isolated natural habitats might arouse suspicions about people’s safety and ecological unbalance. First of all, it is thought that tourists who are insufficiently equipped will likely suffer from serious health problems due to the severe climate conditions of remoted regions. For example, the temperature on African deserts is often scorching hot during daytime and then it quickly drops at night, which sickens most people if they cannot adapt timely to the abrupt temperature change. Furthermore, as more and more people can manage to reach far-flung regions in the wild, endangered species are put under imminent threats of losing their habitats and eventually becoming extinct. Not only is this extinction a mere disappearance, it also has a detrimental effect on the ecology now that a part of the food chain has vanished.

Given all the aforementioned disadvantages, making adventures to remote areas in the wild is still a worthwhile suggestion because of its potential benefits in terms of science and tourism. Considering science, with technological innovations, scientists can enter distant natural environments to conduct extensive research into the ecology so that schemes for animal protection or nature conservation can be developed without disturbing the animals’ habitats. For instance, sustaining polar bears’ well-being will be feasible should environmentalists are aided to access South Pole with ease. Concerning tourism, journeys to distant natural habitats will surely attract a huge volume of travelers thanks to its novelty. As a result, the touring industry in particular and the economy in general will be exponentially boosted since more vacancies will be open once demands for these kinds of tours rocket.

In conclusion, while the downsides of human’s presence in remote natural environment are undeniable, the long-term effects of it are more significant.