Some people believe the aim of university education is to help graduates get better jobs. Others believe there are much wider benefits of university education for both individuals and society. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is a deep-rooted belief that the sole purpose of higher education is to make students a potential candidate for the job market after graduation. However, many people acknowledge more invaluable assets granted to each person and the community by tertiary education. This essay is in agreement with the latter notion proposed.

On the one hand, it is beyond all dispute that university education plays a pivotal role in students’ preparation for future employment. First of all, universities arm students with precious knowledge and skills that enable them to handle various tasks at their workplace later on. Not only are students taught specialized theories for a particular job, they are also offered multiple opportunities to get in-hand experience as internship is a compulsory component of every university’s curriculum. This will ensure that a graduate is capable of entering the workforce with as little struggle as possible. Secondly, since the job market is becoming increasingly competitive and recruiters often have little time to observe candidates’ performances before making decisions, they tend to rely on qualifications as evidence of candidates’ capability. As a result, a degree of higher education, especially of prestigious universities, serves as an enormous benefit for those in search for employment. Therefore, it is safe say that university education is largely responsible for a graduate’s chance of getting a decent job.

On the other hand, it cannot be denied that tertiary education’s contribution is not restrained to students’ employment only. Regarding individuals, apart from preparing them with career-oriented expertise, universities also benefit students in numerous distinct facets such as social networking. For example, clubs at universities are an ideal environment for undergraduates to get in touch with people who share common interests and develop life-long friendships. Considering the society, the economy and the cultural standard of a community are of considerable advantage with the availability of university education. Specifically, as universities introduce competent employees to the labor force, productivity is likely to increase which will eventually cement and improve the economy. In addition, the community can enhance its cultural standard with the presence of citizens possessing courteous manners thanks to soft skills trained in university settings. These merits prove that higher education can positively affect the society on a wider spectrum rather than favoring their students only.

In conclusion, while the importance of university education to one’s career opportunity is tangible, it is worth recognizing the beneficial effects that college learning has on each person and the whole society. Therefore, higher education should be encouraged and promoted among the population.