In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative effects.

The share of senior citizens is anticipated to be greater than that of younger people in many nations. In my view, this trend is both desirable and unfavourable in equal measure.

A higher proportion of older people than younger ones should be viewed as a change for the better. For one, they play an essential part in society. The rich wisdom and knowledge they have accumulated throughout their lives make them suitable for taking important decisions, resolving conflicts and many other life circumstances. Were it not for them, many families would probably face serious financial mismanagement or divorce due to disagreements and conflicts. We should also not overlook their role in child upbringing. In many countries, they are in charge of raising their grandchildren, so it is an excellent assistance for families where both parents work. I for example spent a large part of my childhood with my grandparents, since my parents were at work, and my grandfather taught me such valuable life lessons as codes of conduct, the importance of respect and the value of education.

Nevertheless, a larger number of the elderly than younger individuals can be a cause for concern. This means a reduction in the amount of taxes, for there will be fewer working adults. In effect, the economic development of a country might be impeded markedly, because taxes make up the majority of the government budget. This trend will also likely engender a burden on healthcare systems. This is because the more people age, the more vulnerable they tend to be to various illnesses. The past COVID-19 pandemic illustrated how difficult it was to cope with geriatrics in such countries as Spain and Italy, where there is a large proportion of older citizens.

In conclusion, while having more elderly people than younger individuals can be advantageous for social and family reasons, it might, at the same time, bring about economic and medical challenges. Therefore, I am of the opinion that this change is both beneficial and detrimental.