Despite increasing access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

In recent years, with the development of society, the authorities around the world provide opportunities for people to study. Although there is an increase in number of people going to school, many of them can not read or write. In this essay, I will discuss deeply about the adverse effects and the solutions for the government.

First and foremost, education is always crucial for people to have better quality of life. As a matter of fact, with the improvement of technology, many companies just recruit employee who have high results in studying. As a result, people who can not read which also means that they will lose their opportunities to apply to big enterprises and have well-paid jobs. Furthermore, if they can not find jobs, they will not have money to serve for their life. Consequently, they will do illegal things such as steal cars, gold and so on in order to have money.

On the one hand, there are many feasible approaches that the government can apply to reduce this drawbacks. Firstly, in many poor families, although they really want to their children to pursue the higher education, they can not effort the tuition for them. Therefore, the government should reduce the schooling fees to encourage them to expand their knowledge. Another measure is that the government should launch awareness campaigns about the importance of education. Take Viet Nam, for example, thanks to the awareness campaigns, many VietNamese families let their children to go to schools to further their quality of life.

In conclusion, It is undeniable that people who do not have abilities to read or write can have many disadvantages. However, steps can be taken to mitigate the situation.