Despite the increased access to education, a significant number of people cannot read or write. What are the disadvantages and what action should the government take?

With the prospect of society, the community more and more pays much attention to educational platforms by creating more chances for people to approach formal education. However, there are still a tremendous number of residents illiterate these days, rising alarmingly issue. The fact may have a negative impact on general society, especially on employment prospects, and the government should take some measures to address this problem.

There is a myriad of drawbacks along with illiteracy situation. To begin with, without having in-depth knowledge, the illiteracy residents will be left behind due to the fact that society is experiencing a dramatic increase in every life aspect. Although bigger cities or countries are hubs of various industries, which promise more career opportunities and significantly dream wages, employers also set high standards for their employees. Therefore, if workers have the desire to achieve these jobs, they have to own equivalent qualifications in order to meet the requirements in such a competitive labor market. In contrast, staff who lack illiteracy skills will confront many difficulties in reading comprehension documents, and cannot keep up with the advanced technology. In the future, they will have difficulty in landing a decent and steady job, which can limit their social mobility.

Actions must be taken as soon as possible to minimize the negative effects on society arising from the rising amount of illiteracy inhabitants. Firstly, the government should conduct a rigid screening of educational programs before applying them to the official curriculum to guarantee the quality of lessons. Moreover, competent authorities should encourage educators to innovate their teaching methods suitable for distinctive target groups. Unless instructors realize challenges in learners’ study process, they will not be able to help them overcome. Furthermore, providing financial support and introducing online courses should be taken into consideration. There are a fair number of families that just have a tight budget because of the living expenses, so their children do not have access to the educational system. Besides financial matter, the government should work with schools to introduce more online courses to meet the study demands of remote learners. Having said that, online courses, financial support, and innovation in education from the authorities will definitely reduce the illiteracy rate.

In conclusion, people cannot read and write nowadays leading to many disadvantages for society as a whole. Nonetheless, the government can take some possible steps related to providing financial support, online lessons, and quality educational curriculum to tackle this problem.