The gap between the rich and the poor is increasingly wide, as rich people become richer and poor people grow poorer. What problems could this situation cause? What are the solutions to address those problems?

It is undeniable that the distinction between the rich and poor is growing wider in many regions in the world. While problems associated with this would bring an unpredictable outcome, fundamental measures should be adopted to tackle the issues.

Rising levels of poverty and wealth inequalities adversely impact a country's economic growth and its citizens’ security.One major consequence is that a large number of unemployed or low-paid labor forces have an effect on the domestic business, for example, local shops, factories or supermarkets. As these people do not earn enough money to afford products, shop owners are forced to close down their shops, due to higher unemployment rate. In terms of the security of society, the poor may commit crimes such as robbery, drug trafficking and worse since they can not obtain money through work. The high unemployment rate in youth has been reported to be related to rising crime rate.

To address and resolve these issues, the government should provide more educational opportunities for citizens, to narrow the distance between the rich and poor. By expanding a better standard of schooling to slums of the urban areas and rural regions, children are able to attain higher education levels. Scholarships and fundings also help students to remain in their studies and pursue further education. For instance, technical education could be expanded to help poorer students learn trades. In several fields like medicine, agriculture or engineering, a well-educated workforce is required in the near future, and skilled workers will be able to have higher income to enjoy a decent life. Moreover, vocational courses should be provided for dropout students or low-skilled workers, in order to reduce the unemployment rate in the labor source. As employment opportunities increase, crime rates will fall.

In conclusion, there are many problems linked to the increasing gap. Dealing with the issues at its root by expanding access to education is needed, therefore, the gap between the rich and poor can be reduced.