Gender pay gap hasn’t closed in the UK, despite commitment from company bosses that they would not discriminate against women at work. Thus, some people think that the government should fine those companies heavily to address this imbalance. Discuss.

It is fact that gender wage gap still exists in many companies all over the world. There could be many reason why this is the case, and I believe that government should deal with this imbalance.

There are various reason that many companies have the difference between women and men average earnings. The first reason is occupational segregation, the clustering of female and male workers in particular occupations. Female-dominated occupations are lower paid than those dominated by man, while many positions require male workers. Secondly, with the similar job, women may not perform as well as men, because of their strength, or healthy reasons. The other reason is unconscious bias, in many companies, recruitment department have negative opinions that influence about career progression of women in workforce. They think that men ability is better than women, while the fact is wrong. It is fact that female workers is more industrious, meticulous, and diligent than male workers.

In my opinion, government and companies should pay attention to support female workers. Companies have to create targets for apprenticeships and aim to 50:50 recruitment, apprenticeships are publically fund but at the moment, the one in the highest paid dominated by men. Government should require employers to reveal their gender pay gap and commit to plan it to right, alongside this there is meaningful penalties for who do not comply. Women should be given more flexible work, better maternity-leave policies, and free childcare. When they retire, government must pay equal pensions to male and female workers.

In conclusion, I believe that equal policies could support women workers and their life, remove gender inequality.