It is pointless making children who lack artistic talent learn painting and drawing in Art classes at school. Instead, they should concentrate on other creative and practical subjects which they may have more aptitude. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In many educational systems all over the world, there are a lot of students who lack the talent to learn artistic subjects like Art and Music. Many people think that they should still try to study these subjects, instead of changing to other subjects. In my opinion, I disagree with this approach.

It is a fact that a lot of famous artists and musicians around the world performed with little artistic ability at school. When they were children, if they had not followed art, they could not have become famous artists, composed lots of famous and valuable paintings. Furthermore, just because one is not good at something does not mean that he does not enjoy it, and learning should be fun as well as educational. These subjects may be necessary for them in the future, or entertain them. Creative activities like art also help them develop their imagination and make sense of the world around them by imagining shapes.

Nevertheless, if students are forced to study art, although they do not show interest in it or lack talent, this can bring about some disadvantages. Firstly, they will have to learn lots of subjects. This means, they would not have not enough time to study or do something that they are mostly interested in. As a result their talents may not be developed. Secondly, if someone has to do something that they do not like for a long time, it will be demoralizing for them, and could create negative effects. When they lack aptitude but they study with talented students, they will be slowing other pupils down, create rivalry, and anger and resentment may appear among them which could create conflict.

In conclusion, I mostly agree with the idea that if someone lacks talent learn artistic subjects, they should be made to change their subject.