Genetic engineering is an important issue in modern society. Some people think that it will improve people's lives in many ways, others feel that it may be a threat to life itself on earth. How do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Mankind has evolved into a new era. With the advent of biotechnology and genetic engineering, Altering the fundamental chemistry to bring out desired traits has become a reality. Some people opine that this will flourish human race, while others are in denial with our tampering with mother nature. This essay will discuss about the potential advantages of this newfound technology, which overthrow the disadvantages considerably.

Evidently, Genetic manipulation of natural DNA has been a concept , which has been extensively brainstormed for almost a century. The basics of cellular structure and their control by genes, has been thoroughly described for many organisms, essentially opening the doors for hybrid revolution. The core concepts include, switching naturally unfavourable characters of a poorly adapted organism with a well-adapted one. For instance, Genetically modified organism(GMO) crops are on the rise in united states, providing farmers with better yields, drought resistant and pest resistant produce. Obviously, some are concerned that this playing god with the creation, will bring unforeseen disasters.

On a further note, Human beings have been at a constant war with certain untreatable health conditions, which might be uprooted with latest technologies. Many incurable congenital diseases like autism and down’s syndrome strongly attribute their origins to one’s genetic makeover. On the other hand, Cancer is a disturbingly horrendous health condition with no real cure, again involving the same culprit. Recent advances of gene editing tools are the hope against these unsolvable cases. To quote an example, brand new discovery of CRISPR-Cas 9 enzyme enables scientists to preferentially choose any site on our DNA and snip it, removing those responsible for above conditions. It can be substantially argued that these benefits will improve life expectancy and might be the only available answer to inherited disabilities.

To summarise, our civilization certainly depends on scientific advances to guarantee our sustenance over those previous extinct life forms, and provide humanity with tools to conquer many forthcoming natural challenges.