Genetic engineering is an important issue in society today. Some people think that it will improve people’s lives in many ways. Others feel that it may be a threat to life on earth. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

In this era of cutting-edge technology, many scientific advancements has been made in the world. Out of many, genetic engineering is also one of the most important technique which is able to create an beneficial impact on societies. There exists some opinions of people, where people might think genetic engineering as a menace to the lives on the earth. I believe that genetic engineering has two main benefits, but do think that there js one major disadvantage which will be discussed below.

First of all, the manipulation of genes for various purposes is advantageous because it helps to increase the crop yield in agriculture. For example, a highly resistant Bacillus thuringensis cotton plant, which is more often than not called Bt-cotton, has been introduced through genetic engineering. This crop is highly resistant to insects and pests atack. Moreover, Holstein Friesian, a breed of cow, is produced by genetic engineering that is promised to give more milk than any other breed of cows so far. So, it is clearly advantageous and beneficial for the societies. In addition to this, many economic developments are driven by the introduction of genetic engineering in several fields.

Second of all, genetic engineering is considered as one of the best achievements in science and technology. It is of significant value to societies because it has made the production of clones possible, with certainity, in most cases. For instance, scientists have been successfully producing clones of sheep, with the help of genetic engineering alone. Furthermore, the test tube babies can be produced by virtue of it. This shows that genetic engineering has been contributing societies in various ways. People can live a sophisticated life as there is a science that can turn any impossible thing to possible.

However, there exists one disadvantage about gene manipulation: the loss of biodiversity. For example, the beneficial insects are in the verge of complete extinction. Moreover, the indigenous breeds of plants and animals are getting least importance when genetic engineering has introduced much advanced varieties of floras and breeds of faunas. This can be considered as a menace to the life on the world because some insects, say Ladybird beetles, which are known to be the beneficial insects, are receiving toxins while searching foods. The genetically modified plants contains toxins which are released when any insects feed on them. Aside from this, high-yielding local breeds of animals are facing huge difficulties for their survival.

In conclusion, genetic engineering is clearly an important aspect for the society for the two reasons oulined above. Nevertheless, it is not a perfect idea as the loss of biodiversity is happening.