Nowadays, it is impossible to deny the fact that both sciences and non-science subjects play crucial part in our society, whether governments should allocate more funds to science subjects has sparked a heated debate. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that sciences are the core elements of a society and every other subject can only progress on the wings of sciences, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, science subjects train students critical thinking with questions related to technology, environment and medicine. For instance, by studying sciences subjects, scientists and engineers have designed and developed technologies on internet and smart phones. Doctors and researchers also have innovated and discovered new medicines for cancer and long-term diseases. Hence, sciences have contributed to globalization and improved human’s life. Without sciences, information and ideas are hard to get across between nations and individuals, and large number of people will suffer from cancer and long-term diseases. As a result, governments should invest more funds in technology development and medical research projects.

Furthermore, another reason making sciences more important than other subjects is that it increased productivity. The advanced machines and manufacturing processes developed by engineers and scientists were found to increase 70% of the productivity in China in the last decade according to one of the studies done by University of New South Wales. Therefore, sciences boosted productivity of a nation and ultimately lead to economic growth.

In conclusion, governments must allocate more funds to technology, medicine and research related subjects as they increase productivity and improve everyone’s living standards. At the same time, policies which encouraging those studies should be made and promoted in local schools and universities.