Medical technology can increase life expectancy. Is it a blessing or curse?

In recent years, the development of advanced medical technology has sparked a hot debate over the impact of increasing life expectancy. Some people claim that people are living in a healthier life thanks to the advanced medical treatment. Whereas, others believe that long longevity puts an extra burden on the society. In my opinion, despite some drawbacks, the fact that medical technology has improved human’s life shall not be ignored.

Over the past years, governments from different countries have paid attention on bringing healthcare to every citizen, which allows more people to be benefit from the usage of medical technology, including advanced medical treatment in cancer, diabetes and asthma. Through these technologies, people today are living a healthier and longer life. Eventually, population aging becomes a phenomenon that gives young generation more opportunity to spend time with their elders. Thus, medical technology has brought positive impacts to human’s life.

In contrast, population aging stated above also puts economic pressure on young generations and increases the problems associated with generation gap. Government also need to expand age care facilities and policies to enhance the rights of elders, which leads to extra funds from the tax. From this point of view, increasing life expectancy is becoming a burden for the whole society.

In conclusion, there is in deed both positive and negative impact from increasing life expectancy. However, it is almost impossible to neglect its benefits to everyone in the society the drawbacks shall be well handled.