Some people argue that experience is the best teacher. Life experiences can teach more effectively than books or formal school education. How far do you agree with this idea? Support your opinion with reasons and/or your personal experience.

In the recent years, the phenomenon of learning through experience instead of books has become a heated debate between parents, teachers and students. Although contested by many that experience teaches more effectively comparing with books or formal education, such an issue is considered both constructive and positive and by a substantial number of individuals. In my point of view, I am inclined to believe that both life experience and books are essential to help people grow and discover their talents.

Firstly, subjects including language, science and drama require students to learn from practical experiences. From my experiences, although theories can be taught from books and exams, how to use the language, conduct an experiment and perform in front of audiences must be learnt through practices. I have conducted a survey on this issue and discovered that those activities help majority of students better understand the theories and allow them to apply those skills learnt in daily life. Therefore, life experiences enhance knowledge from books or formal education.

However, without textbooks some concepts are impossible to understand, which including literature, law and philosophy. It is essential for students to know the fundamental theories and learn from the related case studies in books. For example, one of my colleges who intend to get a job in law industry were tested by her employers on an exam to see her knowledge and problem-solving skills. In this case, candidates must acquire fundamental theories or concepts by reading related journals, books and articles to get jobs in those fields.

In conclusion, while there are compiling arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that individual learn from both reading and performing different activities to gain the necessary knowledge and skills in life.