City are now expanding, the government should make better network for public transport or should build more roads to facilitate car ownership? Agree or disagree?

Today, it is impossible to denied that fact that cities are expanding, however, whether governments should focus on building public transports or more roads for private vehicle access in those bigger cities has sparked a heated debate. In my opinion, I believe that public transport plays a vital role in city’s development, therefore, it should be government’s priority and I will elaborate my point in the following essay.

To begin with, public transport, such as buses, trains and trams provide individuals a healthier and more environmentally friendly option to travel in a large city. As research shows that carbon dioxide emission from vehicles is the major reason contribute to global warming, encouraging citizens take public transport ultimately slows down climate change. Reduced air pollution also suggests a positive impact to local ecology and community. Therefore, building public transportation benefits both the environment and people in the society.

Moreover, using public transport saves a lot of money. In my experiences, when I used to drive to work, I spent a lot of money on parking, insurance and services which was triple the amount of what I spent when only taking trains and buses. In fact, research shows that only families or friends who share private vehicle to work or study benefits from this. Hence, building public transport saves money and is more convenient from individual’s point of view.

In conclusion, although certain groups of people such as elders and disability individuals benefit from using private vehicles, the benefits of extending existing public transport system for majority of people far outweigh its drawbacks. Therefore, governments must look into ways of building public transport in large city instead of building more roads for vehicle owning citizens.