Nowadays, it is impossible to deny the fact that science subjects bring positive impact to the society, whether governments should allocate more funds to sciences has sparked a heated debate. In my opinion, I am inclined to believe that sciences are the core elements of a society and other subjects can only progress on the wings of sciences, and I will elaborate in the following essay.

To begin with, science subjects develop student’s critical thinking ability through experiment and research. Students learn to think logically in urgent situations and develop their ideas based on solid scientific evidence instead of believing superstition. For instance, 83% of workers in management positions studied sciences in schools according to one of the researches done by University of Sydney. Hence, investing more funds in sciences enhance a nation’s progress towards a more developed and civilized society.

Furthermore, another reason making sciences more important than other subjects, such as literature, art and music, is that it increased productivity. The advanced machines and manufacturing processes developed by engineers and scientists were found to increase 70% of the productivity in China in the last decade according to the report released by Chinese Ministry of Economic Affairs. Therefore, sciences boosted productivity of a nation and ultimately lead to economic growth.

In conclusion, governments must allocate more funds to scientific subjects as they increase productivity and encourage individual’s critical thinking. At the same time, policies encouraging scientific studies should be made and promoted in local schools and universities through advance facilities and teaching materials.