It is a highly controversial issue that whether should authorities be involved in citizens’ way of lives or people have rights to choose their lifestyles. This essay is going to discuss both sides of the issue in further detail and I will give my personal view in the conclusion.

On the one hand, there are those who maintain that on no account can the governments control the way residents live. Firstly, by determining their own lifestyles, people can get rids of anxiety and stress without the control of government bodies. Indeed, in some democratic nations, people believe that the governments serve local residents, not vice versa, therefore, if laws or regulations which are imposed by authorities to shape their locals’ lives such as what to eat, where to go or what to wear, their citizens will not satisfy with their qualities of life. Secondly, the government has no business to organize the way people want to live, as long as, their activities do not harm others. To illustrate, a man can drink alcohol or smoke, even these kinds of stuff can pose a serious threat to his health. However, after that, if he can control his actions as well as emotions to not harm other people, he can be at liberty to use these things, because he is a sole person who should take responsibility to his health, not the government.

On the other hand, other people claim that governments should have some measures to change their individuals’ way of lives. Firstly, it is obvious that in order to uphold an ordered society, the governments enact new laws as well as allocate money on education lead their locals to become law-abiding citizens who can contribute to society. In fact, owing to the rampant of crime rate because of negative lifestyles, the authority restricts their citizens’ freedom to do whatever they want so as to curb lawless behavior, because the safety of residents is high on the government’s agenda. The second reason is that via changing individuals’ lifestyles, the governments can ensure the decent living standard for their communities. The government who has a profound grasp of the tendency of the world’ development can strengthen the living income or standard for locals by encouraging them to develop modern lifestyles such as: applying technologies for works, using environmentally-friendly commodities and so on, so they can become good citizens in the global village.

In conclusion, I believe that everyone should be at liberty to do anything that they want under the limit of the governments because we cannot downplay the importance of the governments in our lifestyles’ decisions.