The government should control the amount of violence in films and on television in order
to decrease the violent crimes in society. To what extent do you agree or disagree?
it is irrefutable that the films and TV programmes today are filled with violence and as a
result violence is increasing in our societies. I agree that censoring such programmes and
films, some amount of violence can be decreased. In the following paragraphs, I shall put
forth my arguments to support my views.
Reducing the amount of violence on TV and in the cinema would certainly be a good start to
decrease violence among people. It is a well known fact that the media possesses a lot of
power to influence people. So, those in the media must be judicious about delivering news
in a balanced manner that brings the story to the consumer without showing too much
violence. Journalism is a profession like any other and certain standards of quality and
professionalism need to be maintained.
There are many harmful effects of such programmes on the individuals and society. The
most disturbing effect is on the children and youth. Media violence can stimulate fear in
some children as it frightens them, making the effects long lasting. This can become
traumatic in our children as they see it more and more. Children are starting to grow and
are shaping their personality, values and beliefs. They can become aggressive or they can
lose a sense of reality and fiction of what they are seeing.
Moreover, young people imitate what they see and it is logical that they see glamour in
what they do when they commit violence. Consequently, the society suffers as the streets
are full of violence. Finally, too much portrayal of these also leads to immunity among the
people and they are not affected by the disasters any more. Disasters like Tsunami and
earthquakes don’t make people shed a tear any more.
To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, having a check on the violence in TV
programmes and films, would certainly be a good start to decrease the violence and crime
in society.