The government should invest more money in teaching science than in other subjects for a country’s development and progress. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There are different views about whether governments should only focus on the teaching of science subjects to help their countries develop. While I accept that concentrating on these subjects brings about benefits, I would argue that it is better not to neglect other subjects.

For a variety of reasons, I agree that the focus on teaching science-related subjects helps a country progress. Firstly, many of the scientific breakthroughs rely heavily on knowledge of mathematics, physics and chemistry. For example, in the field of medicine, scientists need great knowledge of chemistry to do research and invent new drugs. The teaching quality of these subjects should therefore be continuously improved. Secondly, when students study science subjects, they need to find solutions to a wide range of different problems, which can encourage their creativity and imagination. Such capabilities play an important role in coming up with technological innovations, and these advances help a country gain a competitive edge over other nations.

Despite the above arguments, it seems to me that students should also pay attention to other subjects. In the era of globalization, international trade significantly contributes to the development of a country. It is nearly impossible to engage in trading activities with other countries if language barriers exist . This means that the government needs to invest in the teaching of foreign languages. In Vietnam, for instance, most people can speak English fluently because the school curriculum focuses largely on this subject. Since Vietnamese people are able to work with foreigners, the country attracts many investments from other parts of the world.

In conclusion, while I agree that government spending on teaching science subjects helps a country progress, I believe that teaching subjects such as foreign languages is also necessary.