Government should make people responsible for looking after their local environment. Do you agree or disagree

Over decades, who should get responsibility for protecting the environment still is a controversial question, and some arguments said it should be the charge of individuals rather than the authority. From my perspective, I disagree with these arguments, and I believe that both public and government should be responsible for this issue.

On the one hand, the public plays an important role in protecting the local environment. Firstly, inhabitants can have the best solutions for their environment. Because they understand their region, they may take the most suitable actions to tackle the environmental problems. Secondly, the public’s perception of the ecosystem is not less vital because when people are aware of the impact of pollution on life, they may take actions to mitigate it as much as possible. For example, people may use less plastic stuff to minimize land and water contamination, or using public transports to release less exhaust fume. Therefore, the environment may be better by some small actions.

On the one hand, the role of the authority in protecting the environment is magnificent. The first point is the role of leading the public of the government by some drastic policy about the ecosystem. Because the authority may have some long-term vision about environmental issues, they may have the best solutions which can be effective in the long run, and the policies might make people know what they need to do to improve their ecosystem. Moreover, most serve pollution in the air or water may arise from industrialization by releasing greenhouse emissions or chemical waste of manufacturing, which inhabitants can not solve. Therefore, the need for the authorities' assist becomes important than ever because when the government has some policies to control the waste and emission, the environmental issues may be addressed in the short time.

In conclusion, notwithstanding people are great of importance in looking after the local environment, it is the best when both the government and the public work together to find the comprehensive solutions.