Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Every Government wants to provide safer and faster transport services to its public. It is considered as one of the achievements of Government. Now, the question is whether to provide more rail services or more road services. This is a big question in all the developing countries. This essay delves into both the arguments before arriving at a logical conclusion.

To begin with railways, it helps millions of people to travel from one place to another at very low cost. It also helps in trade and services by transferring the goods from one city to another. Secondly, there is less environmental degradation using railways. When we use roads, then there is a high wastage of fuels and it also leads to pollution. Thirdly, the number of road accidents are much higher than rail accidents, which leads to massive deaths. Another reason is as railway tracks are set mostly outside the city which helps in reduction of traffic.

On the flip side of coin, the construction of roads requires less funds as contrast to the construction of rails. For developing or underdeveloped country, it is not possible to spend astronomically. Secondly, the reach of roads is with each town and village of the country. This is not possible with railway tracks. Thirdly, for usage of roads no advance booking is required.

After looking into each and every aspect of an essay, it arises at a rationale conclusion that the Government must consult with their Finance Ministry for consultation of funds and with Development Authorities for planning the town or city map. The Government may also consult with its public. As in commercial cities like Bombay, Delhi, Kolkata and so on railways tracks are more significant and for residential cities, road transport is more important.