Government should spend money on railways rather than roads. To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

Certainly, it is true that railways and roads both are the safest and affordable means of transportation. From my point of view, I agree that government can expenditure on railways, but they also need to spend on roads to some extent.

To begin with, railways are the main mode of transport that are mostly used by the industries. They transport the raw materials from one place and finished goods to the other. They also uses the roads, but they mostly rely on railways due to heavy and bulk of commodities can be transported. Railways are accessible to the all age groups from children to elders. This mode is usually used for long route journeys like, from Delhi to Mumbai or from Mumbai to Amritsar. There are luxurious trains like The Royal Express which give full comfort like a 5 star hotel. However, there are not railways facility given to the residents of remote areas and railway lines cannot be laid on mountains. These are the regions where roads comes in.

In addition to this, the roads are the one which are used by all sections of society. Roads have been laid in those areas where train lines cannot be laid. Roads can be used for the transportation and traveling. Similarly, this is used by the people who work in the local areas and need their private vehicle to go to the job. Government is already repairing the existing roads and making the new roads for the convenience of the public. Moreover, in the remote and mountain areas, there are roads for transportation of the people and goods.

To wrap up, it can be said that government requires to spend equally on roads as well as on railways.