Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some and may also have a negative impact on others.

Certainly, it is true that monetary rewards act as a booster for the employees. This style of management is in practice all around the world. Many people see this as an incentives, but can also give negative affect. This style is effective to a great extent, however there are certain proved methods that can also encourage people (employees) to work hard.

Pitching in the first area of discussion, employees are delighted to receive an incentive or a bonus as an encouragement. Some employers offer their employees with few rewards to enhance their morale. We can see this when an employee gets a bonus as a reward, his working speed and his productivity increases. Moreover, he/she starts working more to gain more incentives as a reward. As I mentioned earlier, monetary rewards increases their morale, likewise employee's self-confidence and self-esteem. Thus, it leads to the increased profits of the company. However, this style can also create some negative impact on them. Firstly, there will prevail cut throat competition and can affect the company's performance. For example, when cut throat competition pervades in company, employees might begin to work for themselves than working for the company which can again effect the performance of the company on a large-scale.

On the other hand, there are many techniques which the employers can use to motivate his employees. To begin with, many institutions provide their employees with holiday packages as a reward for their exceptional contributions. We can see this when one employee get a holiday package, others are also motivated to receive the same. In order to get the reward, they starts working more effectively and efficiently. This enables the company to earn more profits. Similarly, there are companies, around the world, who give their employees an award for their contributions like, employee of the month or year. They also give promotions to their most talented members of staff for their extraordinary works.

In a nutshell, it can be said that monetary rewards proves to effective to increase the productivity, but there are others methods too that care proved much more effective than incentives.