Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others. To what extent is this style of management effective? Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard?

Many companies award their staff member for their outstanding performance by distributing bonus amount. Some people argue that this approach could be beneficial for the rewarded employees, however, it might have adverse consequences on others. In my opinion, this approach is greatly effective. Before we reach to any conclusion, it is imperative to discuss why this approach is effective and what are other methods to motivate employees to perform better.

To begin with, awarding resources with monetary benefits is certainly effective because in this way both an employee and employer get mutually benefited. This is to say that when a resource performs efficiently then the productivity of the resource increases. As a result, overall productivity of the company increases and the company generates more revenue. Hence, if a company give extra bonus to their resources for their extraordinary performance, it is considered as a best approach. For example, as per the recent news, Gujrat's diamond merchant has gifted a car to his 100 to performer employees.

Admittedly, there better methods to motivate workers to work exponentially. Firstly, resources can be provided with work from home facility. Hence, they can spend more time with their family member, provided quality of work is not hampered. As a result, workers will be more satisfied with such an working model. Secondly, employees could be sent to onsite assignments, which would give them opportunity to learn and experience new working methodologies that are being practiced in other geographies. Thus, skillset of worked will improve. For instance, 78% of the IT companies agreed that they prefer to send only their top performing employees for client facing engagements.

To conclude, giving bonus as a token of appreciation to the best employees is followed by many companies. I believe this a considerably good approach. However, employees could be motivated to perform better by providing working from home and on-site opportunities. Even I work in an IT company, and getting involved in on-site engagement, with travel opportunities, motivates me more than additional bonus.