Some employers reward members of staff for their exceptional contribution to the company by giving them extra money. This practice can act as an incentive for some but may also have a negative impact on others.

To what extent is this style of management effective? Conscious

Are there better ways of encouraging employees to work hard.

Normally, an extraordinary performance of employees is likely to be rewarded by extra money in most organization. There is an argument about the efficiency of this convention. In my opinion, money is the most reserved reward for outstanding staffs when the managements know how to distribute them in the appropriate way.

To begin with, money plays a pivotal role in everyone’s lives, which makes it become the most desirable award. The fact that, a huge applause or compliment has no sense of material needs, while money has ability to fulfill both material and spiritual sectors. Moreover, other in-kind rewards such as vouchers, gift-card, foods or souvenirs do not have highly flexible functions in comparison with money. For example, the owners have freedom to use the money depending on their intentions, whereas, a cosmetic voucher can only be consumed by purchasing cosmetics. Therefore, with money, the rewarded staffs are allowed to satisfy his personal demands, which further motivate his working passions.

However, some people believe that, the additional money would create competition between staffs, which lead to a reduction in group working spirit. They think that the bonus money for the highest efficient staff has detrimental effects on the others. In term of this problem, the management needs to consider the social networking between partners and make conscious adjudgment for all well-deserved accomplishment. Otherwise, the production will be affected because the final results are accumulated and built-up by a team, not only one individual.

In conclusions, the effectiveness of extra money rewarded for significant contributions of hard-working employees cannot be altered by any other means.