Government should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement.

There is a belief that government should allocate budget on railways not on roads. Although, I agree that spending on railways should continue, it would however be important not to discontinue budgeting on roads.

To begin, because of the safe nature of railway, it is without doubt that money should be spent to maintain it by the government. This is because, train is a form of transport with minimal accident rate owing to the fact that they are without traffic congestion since one train apply on a rail at a given time. Furthermore, pollution is another factor to consider. The environment agency have concluded that train constitute lesser air pollution than any other mode of transportation as they are fewer and built with cleaner burning engine. Finally, the fact that lives would be saved and pollution minimized spurs government not to cut expenses on railways.

However, not allocating finance on roads would mean that in the long run there would be no alternative mode of transporting people from one place to another since they would become dilapidated for lack of maintenance. Not everyone prefer travelling by rail, meanwhile, it is undoubtedly that most people consider privacy and convenience of much importance which answers the question why they would always travel by road. Train cannot also effectively be built in every areas for commuters, as a result, farmers would always consider road their major means of conveying goods because it is cost effective. Improving the state of roads by ensuring that government agencies receive capital would therefore grant the public another medium of transport.

In conclusion, government spending on railways should continue for safety reasons and its eco-friendly nature; however expenses on road should as well not be cut in order for citizens to have their choice.