In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative.

The structure of family and its responsibility has witnessed a change in this contemporary times. These changes are in the form of its constitution and the increasing number of dual-income families. In my opinion, this development is a positive one.

Firstly, in time past, family is made up of a father, mother and children, where the father acts as the breadwinner, the mother caters for the children at home. However, presently, it is not uncommon to see families becoming dual-income. In other words, both parents are employed to provide for the families, while children are left with nannies at home. In addition, same-sex and single-sex marriages are trending. By this I mean, an individual forming a family by adopting children or two persons of the same gender constituting one.

These changes are now accepted in our society because of its benefits. To begin, due to the economic state of some countries, it is extremely difficult for a single person to provide for the family, so when both parents work, family income would increase which would in turn improve its economic status. Furthermore, since anyone can form a family, either single parent or same-sex parent, it would be of benefit to parents later on. This is because, in most developing countries, there is no provision for care of the older citizens, therefore, not having your own children, whether biological or adopted would mean living an undesirable life after retirement. These changes are therefore welcomed as an advantage.

To conclude, at present, families have differed in terms of their make up and role, since both parents work and anyone can form it, it has benefited both the parents and children alike.