In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Family is the oldest social organization, whose structure has changed a lot in thousands of years, especially in recent times. Nowadays nuclear families are the main form of family in most of the cultures around the world. The roles of family have also changed as compared to before. Families are now more career and education oriented. Members of a family are now considered as individuals who have a saying in important family decisions. In my opinion, these changes are mostly positive, with a few negative consequences.

Changes in family structure has changed very rapidly in recent years. The noticeable change in family structure is the size of family. Nowadays families are smaller, usually consisting of parents and their unmarried children, which was not the case in the past. Also, families do not play the same role as a social entity as it used to. Families are much more concerned about career now than ever. For instance, in the past, there were not many families where both parents were working. In recent times, women employment has increased a lot, which means that both parents work. This is an important factor which contributes significantly in changes in family roles.

Education was never as important as it is now, which is another concern for families. Families want to ensure the best education for their children, that drives the family activities a lot. Another thing is, unlike the past, families teach their members to be individuals who stand up with their own opinion about the society, also how to develop themselves as strong personalities. Nowadays, every member of a family has a saying in different family matter, which encourages their self esteem.

Most of the changes in family structure is good, but there are also few negative impacts. Families are now much more strict and business-like in many aspects, which may be responsible for weaker bonding among family members.

To conclude, families are changing as always. Despite some negative effects, it can be said that these changes are for the greater good of our society.