In recent years, the family structure has changed, as well as family roles. What are the changes occurring? Do you think these changes are positive or negative?

Family is a structural unit which sums up to form community. It is evident in recent years that the family structures are changing from large families to smaller ones; from joint families to NUCLEAR families. Family structure plays an important role in raising children and sharing of responsibilities within the family so that harmony is maintained. In my opinion there are both positive and negative impacts on society.

Numerous changes in the family structure have come up with westernisation and modernisation. The first to begin with is that the people prefer to have less children in the contemporary world due to household expenses. Also, many youngsters prefer to live independently on their own which was not a norm in olden days. Recently, the younger generation have come up with the idea of marrying late and having lesser children so that they can survive peacefully.

Regarding positive impacts of changes, preferring to have lesser children have greatly benefitted to overcome financial issues. Families with fewer children are able to give good education and life to their offspring compared to the ones with more number of children. Living independently has favoured plethora of individuals to migrate and flourish outside the home countries.

In terms of negative impacts, these changes in family structure made human beings lonely. Loneliness can be a psychiatric disease affecting the mind which can only be cured by compassion and love. Such love is lacking in nuclear families mostly because of selfish attitudes. Moreover, the responsibility of raising children was shared between the mothers and the grand-parents in old styled families, now replaced by working a mother where children are seen at babysitting schools. The affection and love for growing child is greatly despaired.

To sum up, changes in family structures has disturbed the primal cultures and the eternal traditions which were the base of human existence. In my opinion, these changes in family structure have immense negative impact on wellbeing of greater humanity.