Some people think living in a country for a period of time is needed to learn the language and culture.

To what extent do you agree or disagree.

It is believed by some that it is necessary to reside in a nation for a length of time to master their language and culture. Although, I share similar view, however, it is also possible to become acquainted with a foreign language and culture without necessarily living in the country.

Firstly, learning a second language is often a difficult and complex task for everyone, especially adults. Language acquisition involves mastering how they are spoken and writing to convey the right meaning. In other words, it requires one to become familiar with the word-formation, word order and syntax which is not always easy to learn on ones own, but with constant interaction with native speakers it makes it faster for people to learn in a specified time frame. For instance, when I relocated to Germany, speaking as well as writing German was difficult at first, but with continuous communication with the nationals, I was perfect in it in 2 years time. Presently, I can communicate with German, also participate in their tradition.

However, a foreign language and custom can also be learnt without living in the country. There are a number of language schools with professional tutors where people have successfully learnt a second language. These schools are in almost every country which enables anyone seeking to learn another language of choice to enroll and learn as opposed to living with the nationals. To give a clear example, my wife was able to learn French language and culture in Nigeria within eighteen months by successfully completing a French language course, now it is almost impossible to distinguish her from French nationals. Furthermore, internet has also made it easy for people to learn culture of a certain nation by surfing through websites such as Google and Wikipedia.

To conclude, due to complexity of any language and its culture, it is always easy to learn one by residing with the native speakers in their country, but people can also be taught through language schools and internet anywhere in the world.