It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age . Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behavior to children.

Teaching youngsters to differentiate between moral from immoral behavior by punishing them at younger age is crucial. I strongly agree that this method is essential to meet this, meanwhile, an opportunity ought to be granted to parents as well as teachers to instill good morals in them through corporal punishment.

To begin, adolescents need guidance from adults to become better citizens in any society, therefore, it is vital to aid them differ between right and wrong with punishment in their formative years. This is because, during this period, they are unable to decipher the two morals which is why punishment is needed to do it. Punishing them when they indulge in unpleasant deeds would guide them to recognize and avoid such acts in future by instilling fear in them without which they would grow to have distorted views about what constitutes right and wrong behavior.

Moreover, allowing corporal punishment to be applied by parents and teachers alike as an approach to encourage them to imbibe right ways of living is beneficial. Flogging and smacking are examples of such approach that have effectively been used to achieve this, as children dread to hear them mentioned. As a result, they would desist from evil doings and lead a moral life. For instance, at home, young ones who are aware their parents would spank them when they commit crimes would be motivated to live right. Not only at home, but also in school, the thought of being disgraced by flogging in the presence of their colleagues ensures they put up worthy behavior.

To conclude, in my opinion, children must be punished in their early years to know right and wrong, however, parents and teachers require the freedom to physically punish them, motivating right behaviors.