Governments around the world spend too much money on treating illnesses and diseases and not enough on health education and prevention. Do you agree or disagree with this statement?

I agree that government should spending more cost on health promotion and prevention than illnesses treatment. By doing this, more and more people can improve their health habits and empower communities.

Firstly, future health development budgets should be more focus on promoting and preventing disease rather than on curing it. Moreover, health education efforts must be on reinforcing behavior, not on teaching medical science. Government should make health education programs during the COVID-19 pandemic, as a result more people change their new normal lifestyles. Indonesia program concentrated on setting up hundreds of sites that were open both days and evenings to give whole information about COVID-19 such as virus characteristics, vaccination, and how to prevent COVID-19 like wearing a face mask and washing of hands. The effort was supported by mass media coverage and the involvement of community.

Secondly, Health promotion and prevention interventions help communities to increase control over the factors that define health and this strategy can provide guidance to communities facing the challenge of the COVID-19 pandemic. The expertise of health promotors with creating healthy settings can be a source of inspiration and support for schools, universities and workplaces that have to deal with the longer-term disruptive effects of the pandemic. For example, in order to prevent the spread of COVID-19, schools might impose regulations requiring students to study at home during the pandemic, decreasing cases among student.

In conclusion, money spend on promotion of healthy lifestyles and the prevention of ill health being better than cure, strengthening the organizations and improving their health behavior. I believe, this are the best way to manage our health system and reduce morbidity rate.