Governments should spend money on railways rather thanroads

Nowadays, transportation is an essential issue and also a critical factor of development in a nation. Thus, some people think governments should improve the railway systems by using money on it rather than on road systems. while I agree with this point, however, I believe that road is equally important.

On the one hand, I agree that spending money to lay more railways is really important factors. trains are very good at handling the large quantities of similar items such as coal, oil, … it helps to transport bulk goods, or heavy stocks through long distances with lower cost and more safe than by road. For example, to transfer a hundred of car people need so many big trucks to carry all of them, but a train can accommodate all of these and even more, with only one person upfront can haul much more than a truck.

On the other hand, road systems are good for the movement in urban areas and easier to access over hilly areas, mountainous regions. also, it deliveries people and goods at door. For instance, in cities in Vietnam, there are so many small areas, long and deep alleys which only accessed by bike or other small vehicles. it is suitable for short distances within a city or an area to reach the destinations easier. In addition, the cost for laying roads are cheaper and faster than railways and generate more employments such as taxi drivers, shippers, …

In conclusion, to invest money to improve a transportation, governments need to prioritize on which one would be useful for their residents while railway and road systems are both important.