Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Today, globalization trend increase the need for learning languages. parents facilitate their children to attend language classes from early age like primary school, which some experts also believe, that it is better than to start from secondary school. I would argue that this has more advantages.

On the one hand, there are several clear advantages of learning foreign languages at the early age. Young children can acquire language than consciously learn it, while older children and adults have to. english learning students, for example, small kids tend to copy and repeat what teachers say instead to care about grammar whenever they speak. Therefore, students from primary school feel and learn the language in a more natural way. Additionally, because at the early age grades, students have not so many homework and have more activities such as games. while older students have to separate time into other subjects and exams.

On the other hand, learning a new language at a too early age without a stable foundation of their own language might lead to the confusion or mixed use. they mix-up languages and do not have any awareness about it. this can make them confront the difficulties when they want to communicate with others. some children in Vietnam, for instance, they confuse “ I “ in english with “ tôi, tao, tớ, ..” in Vietnamese, and make their parents feel hard to understand. However, parents can talk to their children more frequent and let them start to learn the second language when they have a good basis of their mother tongue language.

In conclusion, learning a foreign language in the early age is better than when they turn to older, which can build up a good foundation about the second language to help them study in their future. this is really important and should be encouraged.