Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The Government funds and where they should be applied is a topic that has been present through out the years. One of the topics of the moment in our society is concerned whether that investment should be made on railways or on roads. In my point of view, they must be directed to streets and roads pavements if we want to provide alternatives to all citizens and be prepared to the future.

First of all, as a developed society we should have alternatives to all people that belong to it. Having this thought in mind, if roads are in better conditions, we can have public transport travelling on them, as well as private cars, reaching places the train never could. Therefore, public transport can be available to all population, but especially considering the ones with less financial capabilities or older citizens. In the other hand, it can also give travel conditions to alternatives to the ones previously mentioned, as private luxury vehicles for the ones who can afford them. Moreover, roads can go to places the trains tracks cannot, which allow for the travellers to have more destination options. These are the points we can already have an advantage but nevertheless, we should not forget to plan the country future.

'The road that leads to our future' can be our marketing slogan and the governments must be aware of that, because of the new technology that is arriving and also, the money they can gain with tourism as well. Nowadays, the electric car is coming and road improvements should be made to make the buyers more keen in choosing this less polluting vehicle. Next, it is important to consider the financial side and although an initial investment must be made on the roads, later they shall provide an increase in tourists, leading to higher cash receipts.

In conclusion, the roads are the present and the future in one combined, that can be the answer to most of the population needs, as well as, to invest in more environmental friendly solutions and more profitable ones as well. It is possible also to recommend to the governments that this investment should be done as soon as possible, having present all the facts previously mentioned.