Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

It is thought by some people that for governments, spending money on railway lines will be better than spending money on roads. I totally agree with this statement and I think that trains should be used more than motor vehicles.

In todays world, transportation is one of the most crucial activity and most people use different kind of modes of transportation, such as personal cars, public transports, trains, frequently. Consequently, governments should take action in order to improve transportation and they should do this by paying more attention on railways instead of roads since trains are more environmental-friendly vehicles. For instance, improvement of existing railways or construction of new ones will increase the usage of trains significantly and reduce traffic congestion caused by motor vehicles. As a result, reduced traffic jam will also reduce carbon dioxide emissions, which is mostly caused by personal cars, and greenhouse gas effects will decline significantly.

Furthermore, another important reason why construction of railways should be paid more than roads is that trains are safer than motor vehicles. There are plenty of vehicles like cars and public transporters travelling on road, while there will be only one train passing on a railway line. This will grow the probability of a crash on roads compared to railway lines. To illustrate, according to a report which was published in 2017, people who died because of car crashes was much higher than those who died due to the trains. Therefore, governments should consider twice if they consider spending money on motor vehicle roads rather than railways.

In conclusion, there are several reasons to agree with the idea of spending money on railway lines rather than roads for governments. Thus, I totally agree with the idea of the statement given.