In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transportDisucss both the

It is thought by some that spending large amount of money to build new railways for high-speed trains between cities is a requirement, while others say that it is better to spend money to improve and develop existing public transport. In my opinion, I believe that both statements should be considered since these two ideas will be beneficial in different ways.

On the one hand, some people believe that high-speed trains, which will be used for transportation between cities, are very significant and suitable railways should be constructed, even if construction of the railway lines require large sums of money. High-speed trains, which can reach 350 km/h, are commonly used all around the world and this type of trains reduces the amount of time spent on transportation considerably, especially between cities which are far away from each other. Moreover, extending the railway lines for very fast trains on a country might also improve trading activities among cities because high-speed trains are much faster.

On the other hand, others tend to spend money to improve existing public transport modes. Since people do not travel between cities frequently, it might be beneficial to pay attention on public transport which is used currently. Development of current public transport will increase the number of citizens who use this type of transport. Consequently, traffic congestion and air pollution might decline considerably which is commonly caused by excessive personal car usage.

In conclusion, I think that large sums of money should spend both on new railway lines for high-speed trains and improving existing public transport. High-speed trains will be effective for greater distances, whereas improved public transport, which is currently used, will encourage citizens to use public transportation more frequently.